Comrade Ajaero Set to Be Crowned NLC President


BARRING any unforeseen change, Comrade Joe Ajaero will be crowned President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) on February 8, 2023.

Comrade Ajaero, the General Secretary of the National Union of Electricity Employees (NUEE) and a current Deputy President of NLC, is the sole candidate for position of President of NLC, Nigeria’s largest labour centre, and as a result will be elected unopposed at the forthcoming 13th Quadrennial National Delegates Conference of NLC scheduled to hold on 7th and 8th February 2023 in Abuja.

The list of duly nominated contestants for election of national officers at the delegates conference, signed by both the chairman and secretary of the Credentials Committee, obtained by National Record on Thursday, january 5,2023 indicates that all other positions up for grab at the Conference – from Deputy President to Ex-Officio – are unopposed.

Five out of the 16 outgoing elected members of the national leadership who constitute the National Administrative Council (NAC) of Congress are returning with Comrade Ajaero to lead Nigerian workers for the next four years.

The three available positions for Deputy President will be occupied by Comrades Prince Adeyanju Adewale W. of MWUN, Audu Titus Amba of NUT and Kabiru Ado Sani of MHWUN.

The sole position of National Treasurer goes to Comrade Ambali Akeem Olatunji of NULGE, while the available four slots for the position of Vice President go to Comrades Benjamin Anthony of AUPCTRE, Stephen Igho Okoro of NUCECFWAW, Michael Ekuma Nnachi of NANNM and Oluwole A. Sunday of NCSU.

Comrade Marwan Mustapha Adamu of JUSUN will emerge as Financial Secretary while Comrade Williams Akporeha of NUPENG will become the new National Trustee.

The three available positions for Internal Auditor will go to Comrades Babatunde Goke Olatunji of NUCFRANMPE, Mohammed Haruna Ibrahim of NUPSRAW and Garba Ibrahim of NUFBTE.

Comrade Roselyn Uba-Anarah of NUPSRAW and Prof Member Euginia George-Genyi will emerge as Ex-Officio members.

The six elected leaders who served under the Wabba presidency but are staying behind include; Comrade Joe Ajaero (Deputy President), William Akporeha (Vice President); Comrade Marwan Mustapha Adamu (Treasurer/Financial Secretary); Benjamin Anthony (National Auditor); Comrade Adewale Adeyanju (National Trustee) and Comrade Babatunde Goke Olatunji (National Auditor).


Let's Keep you updated


We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here